[EUROPALIA TRAINS & TRACKS: Lost & Found]

Annelies Van Parys composition

Benjamin Haemhouts director

Gaea Schoeters libretto

EUROPALIA TRAINS & TRACKS

Every two years, EUROPALIA develops a programme focusing on one country or theme. In 2021, the biennale centres on an invention that changed the world: the train.

From 14 October 2021 until 15 May 2022, EUROPALIA TRAINS & TRACKS is presenting a programme full of visual arts, performing arts, film, music, literature and debates. It will explore trains from four perspectives: their impact on society, sustainability, time and movement. 

The theme prompted Muziektheater Transparant and Casco Phil to use the station – a crossing point and place of contact for many different people – as the setting for an opera. Listen to how an opera scene is composed. Discover how the librettist manages to distill the messages of random passers-by into a text, originating from a text message or maybe a letter. Join the rehearsal. Rush hour was never so inspiring!

Passers-by become spectators, travellers turn into participants. This year, EUROPALIA is dedicated to trains, meaning the tracks that literally connect the continent. Together with Muziektheater Transparant, Casco Phil developed a rich opera experience full of connections. A composer and a librettist spend a week together in a glass box in stations in Antwerp, Brussels, London St. Pancras and in Rotterdam. Every day they compose a short, modern opera, inspired by passers-by and their stories, which they perform during rush hour. The final composition is turned into a performance and sound installation using live musicians and singers, and is on show for a week, to be enjoyed both by audiences who visit it on purpose as well as people who discover it by accident.

Created with the support of the Tax Shelter of the Belgian Federal Government and the SNCB

back to homepage

[EUROPALIA TRAINS & TRACKS: Lost & Found]

Annelies Van Parys composition

Benjamin Haemhouts direction

Gaea Schoeters libretto

EUROPALIA TRAINS & TRACKS

Tous les deux ans, EUROPALIA met en place un programme artistique centré sur un pays ou un thème. En 2021, la biennale d’art portera sur une invention qui a changé le monde : le train.

 Du 14 octobre 2021 au 15 mai 2022, EUROPALIA TRAINS & TRACKS présentera un programme riche en arts visuels, arts du spectacle, cinéma, musique, littérature et débats. Le train sera exploré sous quatre angles différents : l’impact sur la société, la durabilité, le temps et le mouvement.

Ce thème a incité le Muziektheater Transparant et Casco Phil à utiliser la gare (point de passage et lieu de contacts pour de nombreuses personnes différentes) comme décor pour un opéra. Écoutez comment est composée une scène d’opéra. Voyez comme le librettiste parvient à distiller les messages des passants au hasard, en y incorporant un sms ou peut-être même une lettre. Rejoignez et vivez la répétition. L’heure de pointe n’aura jamais été aussi inspirante !

Les passants deviennent spectateurs, les voyageurs se transforment en participants. Cette année, EUROPALIA est dédié aux trains : ces voies qui relient – littéralement – le continent. En collaboration avec le Muziektheater Transparant, Casco Phil a développé une expérience d’opéra riche en connexions. Un compositeur et un librettiste vont passer une semaine dans une boîte en verre, dans les gares d’Anvers, Bruxelles Central, Londres St Pancras et Rotterdam. Chaque jour, ils composeront un court opéra moderne, en partie inspiré par les voyageurs et leurs histoires, qu’ils joueront aux heures de pointe. La composition finale se transformera en une performance et une installation sonore avec des musiciens et des chanteurs en direct. Elle sera exposée pendant une semaine, pour être appréciée à la fois par le public qui vient spécialement pour la contempler et par les personnes qui la découvriront par hasard.

Réalisé avec le soutien du Tax Shelter du gouvernement fédéral belge et la SNCB

retour à l'aperçu