[Beethoven IX]

Eleanor Lyons © Elisabeth Gatteburg

Kaunas State Choir choir

Eleanor Lyons soprano

Katrin Wundsam mezzo-soprano

Daniel Norman tenor

Klemens Sander Baritone

Benjamin Haemhouts conductor


Frederik Neyrinck – Artikel 1, world premiere

Ludwig van Beethoven – Symphony no. 9 in D minor, Opus 125

Beethoven was born 251 years ago, and his work still resonates with contemporary composers. We start the evening with a fresh touch: Frederik Neyrinck presenting a new work for choir, a setting of a text from the first article of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights, reflecting the revolutionary ideals that Beethoven passionately believed in. Then it’s time for the ninth – Beethoven’s last symphony is so monumental that the number says it all. This Ode to Joy is almost two hundred years old, and only improves with age.

back to homepage