Casco Phil is a dynamic collective that turns all preconceptions about the orchestra on its head. Propelled by the artistic vision of chief conductor Benjamin Haemhouts, who has led the ensemble since its inception, Casco Phil profiles itself as a unique format in the Belgian concert landscape. A flexible, committed group of musicians with a wide repertoire. With Western European, classical compositions as a foundation, Casco Phil consciously looks beyond genre boundaries and likes to make forays into contemporary avant-garde, jazz and pop music.

As performers, we at Casco Phil always look forward. Where should the traditional orchestra idea go? How can we renew this age-old repertoire? What out of the box solutions can we come up with to reach new audiences?

With Casco Phil, you will discover music in unseen places, experience concerts in unique settings or sample unfamiliar pieces.

Agile in form, unwavering in quality. However diverse our projects may be: for everything we do, we hold ourselves to the highest artistic standards. The permanent core of our ensemble includes musicians carefully selected on the basis of their artistic and human qualities. The soloists and composers we regularly work with are also of the same world class: The Labèque sisters, Sylvia and Stéphanie Huang, Bryce Dessner, Pieter Wispelwey, Lukáš Vondráček, Liebrecht Vanbeckevoort…

With immeasurable motivation, everyone gives their best time after time.

Casco Phil
Unexpected. Adventurous. Colourful.

[Learn more]

[People behind CascoPhil]

Benjamin Heemhouts

Artistic director with a touch of rock ‘n’ roll, creative ideas and plenty of verve.

Benjamin Heemhouts

artistic director

Arne Herman

Enthusiastic team player who aims to inspire others with his determination to explore unknown territory together.

Arne Herman



At the heart of Casco Phil is our core group of top musicians, perfectly in tune with each other and with our mission. This gives us a real dynamism and energy on stage that you’ll feel when you’re in the audience.


Maximilian Lohse [Concertmaster]
Dirk Uten [principal]
Anna Buevich
Laeticia Cellura
Hans Devos
Ricardo Vieira
Hannah Van Laere
Edgar Gomes
Edoardo Brandi
An Simoens
Karin Gutsche
Jolanta Iwaniuk
Reinout Pauwels
Charlotte Knops


N.N. [principal]
Jutte Demuynck
Manon Vervaet
Jose-Miguel Freitas


N.N. [principal]
Anthony Gröger
Suzanne van Duuren


N.N. [principal]
Katrien Dupont


Femke Van Leuven
Esther Ursem


Irene Martin Sanchez [principal]
Yf Bourry


Geert Baeckelandt [principal]
Wendy Hendrikx


N.N. [principal]
Valérie Trangez


N.N. [principal]
Michel Leveugle
Evi Baetens


Frankie De Kuyffer [principal]
Bert Mees


Philip De Jager

[Stay connected]

Subscribe to our #casconews